Ad Hoc Committee on the OSU Carbon Commitment

February 20, 2019 Minutes

Voting members present: Roberto Albertani, Marlys Amundson, Amy Bourne, Leticia Cavazos, Ed Dever, Jon Dorbolo, Jeff Gautschi, Jillian Gregg, Kim Hannigan-Downs, Chris Kulah, Leela Magdaleno, Qinglai Meng, Gary Miller, Shelly Signs, Brandon Trelstad, Marianne Vydra, Beth Filar Williams Voting members absent: Keith Jayawickrama, Cinamon Moffett, Jacob Putney Guests present: Heather Mioline, Zach Pinard, Dwaine Plaza

Brandon and Lety introduced the OSU Carbon Commitment and Office of Sustainability actions to implement it.

A missing piece in the implementation is connective action within university units.

So, one practical function of this committee may be to provide organization within University units to promote connective action to the implementation of the carbon commitment.

Question: may Bill Ripple attend and present to this committee? All agreed yes, he may. At that time, we will review the 2018 Faculty Senate Resolution to endorse "World Scientists' Warning to Humanity: A Second Notice," Ripple et al. Indeed, gaining broader exposure to this work may be one of the objectives of this committee.

Recommendation: We should focus on "big ticket items" such as changing OSU sources of energy.

The meeting breakout into discussion and planning groups resulted in posters transliterated into the notes taken by Lety.

From those poster entries we (Lety, Brandon, Jon) derived the following themes:

- 1. Reporting and Communication
- 2. Conservation and Efficiency
- 3. Transportations
- 4. Education and Curriculum